Soundtrack Review: Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

Soundtrack Review: Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes soundtrack review: This is a review of the film score Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes by Michael Giacchino.

At a glance:

19 tracks
78 minutes of score
Geek Score: 100
Total Minutes Of Excellence: 77.58
Album Excellence: 100%
Buy or stream? Buy

How are the scores calculated and what does it mean?

It finally feels like blockbuster season has started when a score like Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes lands on my desk. It seems like a joke, but this is actually Michael Giacchino’s first score in 2014. Tension is high, can he deliver the score we all want? For me, only one Apes score has really delivered and it’s the original score by Jerry Goldsmith. Neither Danny Elfman or Patrick Doyle impressed with their versions and I haven’t even listened to the others. Yes, excitement is in the air. This is a score I so hope to be incredible. Beware of pun city when you check out the track titles though, but then you realize it’s Giacchino so no news there.

The opening of any score is always exciting, but this is excitement on a higher level. Thankfully, it both sounds and feel right, and the music is great too.
‘Level Plaguing Field’ is such a beautiful opening track with soft subtle choir, almost like signalling that doomsday is coming and knowing the apes, it might just be. ‘Look Who’s Stalking’ on the other hand is damn creepy, and yes, there are rattling bones which is a requirement in any Planet Of The Apes score if you ask me. Ah yes, this score delivers so far and then comes something really beautiful, ‘The Great Ape Processional’, a killer theme that is going to be stuck in my head for some time.

I am lucky and privileged to hear this music as it scores very high for me. The mix between subtleness and in your face awesomeness. I dig the parts that sounds like a scary horror movie, almost Ligeti style, but not quite. Maybe it didn’t quite sound as expected for me. I wasn’t hoping, but I was expecting more action music than what is present, but now that I heard it, I don’t think I would change a single note, it’s just so good as it is. Action fans do get more than they bargained for in ‘Gorilla Warfare’ an absolute killer track that is over 7 minutes long. ‘Enough Monkeying Around’ is perhaps even more fierce, it really gives my sound system a true test at high volume.

This is the first Planet Of The Apes scores I have heard since Goldsmith’s amazing score that I felt really belongs in the Apes universe. I’m not ashamed to admit it, I think this score even surpasses the brilliance of the original Apes score. This release is a joy to the ears and for any Apes fan, the music has finally come home again.

1. Level Plaguing Field
2. Look Who’s Stalking
3. The Great Ape Processional
4. Past Their Primates
5. Close Encounters Of The Furred Kind
6. Monkey To The City
7. The Lost City Of Chimpanzee
8. Along Simian Lines
9. Caesar No Evil, Hear No Evel
10. Monkey See, Monkey Coup
11. Gorilla Warfare
12. The Apes Of Wrath
13. Gibbon Take
14. Aped Crusaders
15. How Bonobo Can You Go
16. Enough Monkeying Around
17. Primates for Life
18. Planet of the End Credits
19. Ain’t That a Stinger

GD Star Rating
Soundtrack Review: Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes, 8.1 out of 10 based on 30 ratings


Creator of and Soundtracks community on Google Plus.
Got something to say? Hit me up at Twitter