Soundtrack Review: Flashback The Quest For Identity

Soundtrack Review: Flashback The Quest For Identity

Flashback The Quest For Identity Soundtrack Review: This is a review of the video game score Flashback The Quest For Identity by Rich Douglas.

At a glance:

Geek Score: 100
Total Minutes Of Excellence: 22
Album Excellence: 100%

How are the scores calculated and what does it mean?

Flashback, released as Flashback: The Quest for Identity in the United States, is a 1992 science fiction cinematic platform game developed by Delphine Software of France and published by U.S. Gold in United States and Europe, and Sunsoft in Japan. As a cinematic platformer, Flashback features gameplay similar to that of 1989’s Prince of Persia, and Delphine’s own Another World released in 1991. Each level spans a large number of non-scrolling screens, nearly all of which feature multiple levels of altitude — requiring the player character Conrad to jump, grab onto ledges, climb, use elevators, and drop onto lower levels. Conrad exhibits realistic human running speed and jumping ability, as well as realistic weakness — he will die if he falls from too great a height. The score is composed by Rich Douglas.

This is a retro 80s synth wave re-recording of all of the music from the SNES / Genesis version of Flashback The Quest for Identity. The original score was composed by Jean Baudlot & Fabrice Visserot. I used to love Flashback in the day, but on the Amiga. I never had the pleasure of trying out the SNES / Genesis version of the game which obviously had a score people remember. I am excited to hear the original score re-recorded. The opening couldn’t be cooler with ‘Delphine Logos’ which sounds like a great opening intro recorded straight from VHS. Yeah, now this is super promising. ‘Conrad Escapes (Opening)’ is next and it’s an action-filled homage to the 80s with some sweet sounding synths. I love the way the synths sounds, they are so authentic and it doesn’t sound super crisp and clear like a modern recording would. Douglas obviously put his soul into this project to make it sound just right and he has succeeded.

The ‘Main Titles (Menu Screen)’ is special though, proper special. Sounds like it belongs in a cool John Carpenter action film and this is the opening sequence. Douglas was right when he said the themes were infectious because they are. Maybe it was the Douglas mix that did it. It sure sounds super sweet. Be warned though, the score contains some ridiculous short cues, but it’s not that many. They work like “stingers” and sounds great anyway. This is a love letter to the 80s even though the game came out in the 90s. The sound is sweet and the themes are great. You know you want this if you’re into 80s synth scores. It’s a winner.

1. Delphine Logos
2. Conrad Escapes (Opening)
3. Main Titles (Menu Screen) *
4. Waking
5. A Dangerous Place (Extended) *
6. Item Fanfare
7. Sighting The Guard
8. The Jump (Descent In The Tunnels) *
9. Entering New Washington (Extended)
10. Conrad’s Memories
11. Mission
12. Taxi Ride
13. Tension (Death)
14. Hypersleep (Menu Screen Reprise) *
15. End Titles (Ending)
16. Flashback Menu Music – 2015 Cinematic Version

GD Star Rating
Soundtrack Review: Flashback The Quest For Identity, 5.5 out of 10 based on 2 ratings


Creator of and Soundtracks community on Google Plus.

Got something to say? Hit me up at Twitter