Soundtrack Review: Halo 4 (2012)

Soundtrack Review: Halo 4 (2012)

Halo 4 Soundtrack Review: This is a review of the video game score Halo 4 by Neil Davidge.

“This is exactly the reason why I started listening to scores in the first place.”

Halo 4 is the latest game in the first person shooter game franchise Halo developed exclusively for the Xbox 360 by 343 Industries and published by Microsoft Studios. Master Chief is back with what some say is the best Halo game yet. Released only last week, the game is pretty fresh and so is the score composed by Neil Davidge.

Track List

1. Awakening 100
2. Belly Of The Beast 100
3. Requiem 100
4. Legacy 100
5. Faithless 80
6. Haven 80
7. Nemesis 100
8. Ascendancy 100
9. Solace 100
10. To Galaxy 100
11. Immaterial 100
12. 117 (by Kazuma Jinnouchi) 100
13. Arrival 100
14. Revival 80
15. Green And Blue 100

Another year, another Halo score. Yawn. Oh wait, what is this? Not Martin O’Donnell or Michael Salvatori? Neil Davidge? Interesting. If you haven’t heard, Neil is the brain behind Massive Attack. Last time I heard him I wasn’t so impressed when he added his flair to Ramin Djawadi’s Clash Of The Titans. Well at least it will be different because this series really needs a kick up the backside. The previous Halo scores are immensely popular, but usually only by big fans of the games, which to be fair is a hell of a lot. I was never a fan of the games, but I heard the scores and I could never get into them. They sounded so laid back, so new-age-ish. Not interested.

Well, score fans. Gather around and I shall tall you a tale of when Neil Davidge entered the world of Halo and made the scores absolutely kick-ass. Yes, it has happened and it’s a score to enjoy for decades to come. The themes are glorious and they are put so well together that you can’t stop listening to them. ‘Awakening’ is such an example of an incredibly addicting track that I can’t get enough of. Every cue delivers a wonderful experience and I can honestly say this is one of the best video game scores I have ever heard thus far. We also thank composer Kazuma Jinnouchi for the wonderful ‘117’, one of my top three tracks on the score.


I have already said everything you need to know in the review so there’s no time like the present to go and buy this in CD or digital form. Buy one for yourself, your wife, children and everyone you know because this is exactly the reason why I started listening to scores in the first place. If you feel so inclined, go grab the Special Edition with an extra CD full of remixes that’s actually good (most of them). Magnificent. Thank you Neil Davidge for making me want the score to Halo 5 immediately (if you are still at the helm that is).


Buy the score at Amazon, Amazon MP3 or iTunes.
GD Star Rating
Soundtrack Review: Halo 4 (2012), 9.3 out of 10 based on 18 ratings


Creator of and Soundtracks community on Google Plus.

Got something to say? Hit me up at Twitter