Soundtrack Review: The Lord Of The Rings Online Mordor

Soundtrack Review: The Lord Of The Rings Online Mordor

The Lord Of The Rings Online Mordor Soundtrack Review: This is a review of the video game score The Lord Of The Rings Online Mordor by Chance Thomas.

At a glance:

Geek Score: 100
Total Minutes Of Excellence: 34.1
Album Excellence: 100%

How are the scores calculated and what does it mean?

The Lord Of The Rings Online is a 2007 massive multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) for Microsoft Windows and OS X set in a fantasy universe based upon J. R. R. Tolkien’s Middle-earth writings. It takes place during the time period of The Lord of the Rings. It was developed and maintained by Turbine after Jeffrey Anderson secured the rights from Vivendi. Mordor is a new expansion to the game, the sixth one featuring the dreaded location of Mordor. There’s a substantial new number of quests, 300 of them and the new expansion will introduce an allegiance system, where you can pledge your allegiance to a faction and help them heal the ash-covered wasteland for special rewards; a crafting and gear update to help you handle Mordor’s dangerous denizens; and a new race, the High Elves, with their lovely flowing locks. The score is composed by Chance Thomas.

The last time I heard music from this universe was in 2012 with the expansion Riders Of Rohan. Thomas did the score to that one and it was very good, I enjoyed it very much. If you are interested in more music from the series, there’s a 10th anniversary soundtrack out right now where I presume the music is from the base game and all the expansions although I haven’t researched it much. I’m hoping that this score will bring me more great fantasy music and considering this is a Mordor expansion, the music might be quite dark. The score is quite short though for a video game score, only around 37 minutes. The music opens with ‘Barad-Dur’ and it is indeed dark fantasy with lots of horns and percussion. Exciting!

I’m very much invested in the dark fantasy areas of Lord Of The Rings after hearing the excellent score to Middle-Earth Shadow Of War. In that review I mentioned that if you wanted a more light Lord Of The Rings score, you might check out Chance Thomas’ various scores for the Lord Of The Rings Online universe. While that’s true for most of his music there, this one could well be a really good companionscore with Schyman and Grigg’s excellent foray into dark fantasy for this universe. This is truly Thomas’ foray into dark fantasy as well and he does an excellent job. The horns sounds terrifying and the use of choir is epic and brilliant. The only respite is ‘Coronation Of Aragorn’ which is damn right pleasant and peaceful with a lovely heroic feel to it. It sounds like something out of a heroic Star Trek episode. This score is a no-brainer if you enjoy dark fantasy as this is one of the better ones out there.

1. Barad-Dur
2. After The Fall
3. Bring It
4. Lhaereth Of Seregost
5. Conquest Of The Dark Lands
6. Lurking In Linghris
7. Fate Of Ayorzen
8. The Burning At Talath Urui
9. Coronation Of Aragorn
10. The Black Gate
11. Ugrugkhor Captain Of The Pit
12. Chant For Sauron
13. Undoing The Ring Of Power
14. Unleash Terror
15. Something Evil Rises

GD Star Rating


Creator of and Soundtracks community on Google Plus.

Got something to say? Hit me up at Twitter