Soundtrack Review: What We Become

Soundtrack Review: What We Become

What We Become Soundtrack Review: This is a review of the film score What We Become by Martin Pedersen.

At a glance:

Geek Score: 100
Total Minutes Of Excellence: 49.2
Album Excellence: 100%

How are the scores calculated and what does it mean?

What We Become AKA Sorgenfri is a 2015 Danish horror film directed by Bo Mikkelson and starring Benjamin Engell, Troels Lyby & Mille Dinesen. The Johansson family’s idyllic summer is brought to an abrupt halt as deaths stack up from a virulent strand of the flu. The authorities start off by cordoning-‐off the neighborhood, but soon panic and force the inhabitants into quarantine in their hermetically- ‐sealed houses. Isolated from the rest of the world, teen Gustav spies out and realizes that the situation is getting out of control. He breaks out, but soon the family of four comes under attack from the riotous, blood-‐thirsty mob who forces them to the extreme to escape alive. The score is composed by Martin Pedersen.

Zombies are apparently still a thing after all these years, but I don’t think there are many Danish zombie movies. There was the Norwegian one Dead Snow, but that’s more of a comedy horror. This one looks like a straight up scary horror movie and there has rarely been a scarier opening title with ‘Titlemusic’. It starts with a terrifying ambient sound and some shrieking strings, breathing in the background. Creepy. And then there’s noise, a lot of noise. The main theme ‘What We Become – Main Theme (Short)’ is an entirely different ballgame. It’s not scary at all, but an actual theme and the highlight is the loud synth that plays the main theme motif. It reminds me a little bit of Brian Tyler’s theme for Bangkok Dangerous.

There’s your score in a nutshell. You have a fine mix of themes and ambient horror and there’s a bunch of scores that does that, but it’s hard to get the right mix and to make it sound good. With this score I’m always on edge because that opening cue scared me and because of that, I can’t shake the feeling I’m about to get scared again. And then there’s the theme which is really nice as well. In the middle of it all you have a nice minimalistic feel to some of the cues like ‘Connection’, simple and subtle but beautiful. If I could describe this score using one word, it would be unsettling. It’s perhaps not as scary as the opening cue indicates, but it is very unsettling. Even cues like ‘Inspection’ where not a lot is happening, there’s a mood, a sound that makes me uncomfortable. And that is what makes this score so compelling, the dark uncomfortable feeling while listening to it. It’s not often a score does that, but for me, this one got under my skin.

1. Titlemusic
2. What We Become – Main Theme (Short)
3. Binoculars
4. The Forest
5. Connection
6. Step Back In The House
7. Getaway Fails
8. Inspection
9. Inspection (Friends House)
10. The Trucks Are Back
11. Worried / The School
12. It Was My Dad
13. Who’s There?
14. We’re Not Going Anywhere
15. Sleeping Together / Mother Crying
16. Maj Is Gone / Mother Crying
17. Rampage
18. What We Become – Main Theme (Extended)

GD Star Rating
Soundtrack Review: What We Become, 6.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating


Creator of and Soundtracks community on Google Plus.
Got something to say? Hit me up at Twitter